6 Comments

An Award: Thanks for Writing

So Rina @ Juggling Act of Life has given me my first award. She has found my writing to be ‘a balanced perspective’ – Thanks Cat, I’m quite happy with that description! :) And I feel rather special being included in an award!

Rules as follows:

1. Include the award logo in your post or on your blog
2. Say 7 random things about yourself that the readers don’t know yet
3.  Nominate 5 – 10 other blogs you usually follow
4. Let the nominees know that they are nominated & include their blog-links
5. Link the person who nominated you

Because this is my first of this kind, #2 should be fairly easy for me to complete.

7 Random things you don’t know yet

1. I have a nut allergy. I’m also allergic to bean sprouts and micro greens. However I CAN eat pecan nuts! But all others almost kill me!

2. I was born with 12 fingers! The extra fingers were attached to my pinkie so they were just tied and left to fall off. So no deformity to my hands!

3. I was Dux Scholar, Head Girl, Sports Woman of the Year in Primary school. I was a good all rounder culturally, academically and in sports. You can see where my expectations of my boys come from!

4. I used to manage South African metal bands – a long time ago. I’m glad I no longer do! The politics drove me bonkers!

5. I was married before. I got married at 20 and was divorced by 22! So this is my 2nd marriage.

6. I love earrings! I do not leave the house without them – if I do it’s purely because I was running late and busy with too many things at once. The sad part is – I tend to get attached to 1 pair – so the others take a back seat – even though I love them too!

7. I have counting OCD! I count everything that has sides or patterns. I count when climbing stairs, I count to 25 when stirring my tea, most things I count are normally in 3’s. If the pattern doesn’t work out equally by counting in 2’s or 3’s or 4’s and there’s a spare ’tile’ for example – I’ll count again in different ways to make it work! When I look at peoples faces I count “2 eyes, 2 eyebrows, 2 nostrils, 2 ears, 2 lips” – it equals 10 in total! So if you talk to me face to face – know that I’m counting – but I do still listen!
I count the road markings when we drive (when other people drive that is). I count street lamps. I count shape sides – when I watch TV I count the sides of the TV over and Over and OVER! I can get very despondent sometimes because it has made me feel really down when it reaches it’s peak.

Nominate 5-10 Bloggers I follow

Sam @ Communique
Sian @ A Love Beyond Measure
Julia @ Unwritten
Margot @ Jou Ma Se Blerrie Blog
Lauren @ Life in Lolly Land

Look forward to reading some more from the blogging community! Hope you enjoyed getting to know me a little better!

6 comments on “An Award: Thanks for Writing

  1. Oh gosh the counting thing will drive me totally mad. Great to hear more about you.

  2. Oh my word, your 7 things were totally cool! I’m sure they come in handy as conversation ice breakers at parties or when meeting new people! :) Mine are totally boring in comparison, damn!!

  3. Awww honey. THANK YOU. And thank you for ALWAYS leaving the most fantastic, though-provoking comments on my blog.
    xx

  4. Thanks for the award Tam. Your 7 things are so awesome… I’ve over revealed about myself on my blog so my 7 things are kinda boring and “normal”.

    I love your thought provoking posts and comments – so Thank u for writing!

    xx

  5. [...] me feel all warm and fuzzy and it ABSOLUTELY fills my love tank. Thank you to Louisa, Sharon and Tam for awarding this to me. Gosh, Louisa and Shaz said the loveliest things about me. I was sitting in [...]

  6. “I was born with 12 fingers! The extra fingers were attached to my pinkie so they were just tied and left to fall off. So no deformity to my hands!”

    You have officially fascinated me.

    I believe Anne Bolyn was born with an extra finger – similiar to what you describe. I am a huge tudor fan and have been for years. Since reading this little titbit, I always count people’s fingers and toes when I see them.

    Now I can say “I know someone like that…” yes I know it sounds a bit spaz but it is a quirky thing I think is cool.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

